Buffalo Chickpea Baked Potatoes

There are things I miss as a vegetarian. Okay, buffalo wings might not be the highest on my list, but I do miss the ease of them. Plus, I enjoy spicy foods, so a finger food that satisfies my spicy craving? Yeah, it’s the kind of ease a college student misses. However, I found the next best, or in my opinion even better, thing.

Buffalo chickpea baked potatoes with a fresh salad. Seriously, these suckers are killer. I highly recommend you try them. No, really, right now.

Adapted from Naturally Ella

Buffalo Chickpea Baked Potatoes:

2 medium potatoes

1 small onion or half a medium onion

3/4 cup chickpeas, drained and washed

1-2 tablespoons olive oil

1/4 cup of hot sauce, Franks Hot is my preferred choice

1 tablespoon butter

Avocado, cilantro, cheddar cheese, ranch, or blue cheese dressing for toppings

1. Bake potato using your preferred method of cooking, microwave or oven

2. While the potatoes are baking, cook the onion until translucent and add the chickpeas and cook for about 2 minutes. Add the franks hot and butter and cook for another 2 minutes or until nice and hot.

3. Slice the potato down the middle, then cut as if cutting an avocado so the buffalo sauce and chickpea mixture can seep into the nooks and crannies.

4. Pile on the toppings and dig in.

Serves 2.

 

Leave a Reply

